Body Image / health / Uncategorized

I’m fat. And I think I can’t do anything about it.

I’m a huge pig cow ready to take the world by storm, relentlessly eating everything in my reach until the illusion of being satisfied is fulfilled.

No, that’s not actually true but my enemies sure wish that were true. Unfortunately my psyche tends to agree with that alternate reality at times. We all face some days where we feel like ‘Violet Beauregarde’ in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory when she ate that piece of gum and turned into that HUGE blueberry. I mean girl.

Violet Beauregarde

But I have a question.

What or who exactly is ‘fat’?

By dictionary definition fat as an adjective means :

 1. (of a person or animal) having a large amount of excess flesh: Eg: ‘the driver was a fat wheezing man’

2. (of an animal bred for food) made plump for slaughter.

Eh we don’t need that last definition – I hope. I’m gonna’ stick to the first meaning for now. This may be the dictionary definition but it is all subjective to what people think. People from Germany may label someone as fat while someone from Jamaica may describe that same person as “maaga” or “meager” in English. People develop this mental framework where they put people into labels and no I’m not condemning others. I’ve been guilty of this far too many times than I care to admit.

But do we really need to label someone as fat? Should we mind our own business while our peers drown in excess flesh?

My answer is — it’s complicated. 

Of course it’s unnecessary to go around being a judgmental prick, desecrating the little trickle of confidence some people have left but it is also hypocritical to withhold the truth from your friends. An  overweight person SHOULD be told to get on top of their weight pleasantlyHowever, there are those people fighting to lose weight unsuccessfully. They should be ENCOURAGED to keep trying to lose weight, pleasantly. 

Person:”How can I encourage someone to lose weight pleasantly?”

Me: “Hey beautiful, I’m going to try this new hike trail tomorrow. Care to be my partner?”

A condescending tone and pitiful look doesn’t help by the way peeps.


A friend of mine once shared this big problem he had. He felt highly self-conscious when wearing a T-shirt because ultimately he thought that he needed to make the gym his second home. Personally I thought the guy looked pretty darn fine in a T-shirt. He’s also pretty slender, nowhere near fat. But society’s overly pretentious standards for men had put him in a position where he thought he had to look like what, Shemar Moore? (Bit of a stretch if you’re not working out pal)

Shemar Moore  (Photo by John Sciulli/WireImage for TV Guide Magazine)

Shemar Moore

Males, you do not need to have rock hard abs to be deemed attractive. Not to be cliché but beauty lies within and if you’re putrid on the inside quite frankly being a pretty boy on the outside means nothing.

Ladies same for you, you do not need to have a ‘thigh gap’ or 36-24-36 measurements to be deemed beautiful by everyone.

In the words of Alessia Cara:

” There’s a hope that’s waiting for you in the dark
You should know you’re beautiful just the way you are
And you don’t have to change a thing
The world could change its heart
No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful”

BUT be healthy.

Eat your food earthlings, be strong and keep fit in mind, soul and body.

2 thoughts on “I’m fat. And I think I can’t do anything about it.

  1. Great article and I agree with most of what you said…
    I do think that sometimes, for me, being nice about someone’s weight can make them feel worse. I was very thin growing up, healthy but thin, and I was really insecure about this.
    I was teased, not badly (eg. did you eat break fast this morning? You shouldn’t be wearing that *followed by baffled/why are you doing that stares*) and some people also played nice (you look…nice. I’m buying something, want me to buy you something to eat too?) and looking back I actually liked the people who told me like it was because it forced me grow a thicker skin, understand how people really saw me (which is really important), made me make sure I was healthy and ultimately it taught me how to defend myself which is something I would not have learned otherwise.

    So sometimes there are drawbacks to being nice. It is just another word for pity to me.

    But I’m Jamaican, “babying up” isn’t really in our culture so… take everything with a grain of salt I guess.

    –Blessings

    Like

Leave a Reply

